Family Guidance Centers

(Midlothian, Va. April, 2019)

Kind and caring. Inclusive of all peers. Wants to help others every day. Focused on moving forward and succeeding after overcoming past challenges. An all-around great person.

These are the some comments provided to describe Chesterfield County Public Schools’ 2019 Students of the Year, who will be recognized April 25 during a special dinner and awards celebration sponsored by the Midlothian Rotary Club.

“This annual event is but one way we honor our students for the values and citizenship that they demonstrate on a daily basis,” School Board Chair Rob Thompson said. “We celebrate the excellent choices they are making, and we honor their commitment to being the best person possible. These students are role models for their peers, and we look forward to highlighting their success stories.”

The annual Students of the Year gala recognizes two students from every Chesterfield County school who are selected for demonstrating characteristics associated with the School Board’s new adopted core values of integrity, equity, teamwork and ingenuity.

“There will be approximately 130 students recognized, representing 0.2 percent of our entire student population,” Superintendent Dr. Merv Daugherty said. “The students being recognized may be scholars, great athletes, gifted in the arts or the creator of the next big technology gadget. But, that’s not what has earned them this recognition. Our Students of the Year demonstrate on a daily basis that doing the right thing matters.”

During the past decade-plus, the Midlothian Rotary Club has generously provided approximately $175,000 to support recognition of these outstanding students. After a family dinner, the Students of the Year are recognized formally during an awards presentation.

“Our Rotary Club is proud to have supported this event since its inception more than 15 years ago,” Midlothian Rotary Club President Andy Foldenauer said. “Rotary International is a service organization that makes positive impacts in local communities around the world. This worldwide network of professionals brings together business and community leaders to provide humanitarian assistance, provide high ethical standards in vocations, and promote world peace.”

Here are the 2019 Students of the Year for Chesterfield County Public Schools:Elementary schools

  • Bellwood Elementary – Ja’Meirah Lewis, Sophia Hopkins
  • Bensley Elementary – Edyn Bedoya Cuellar, Ariatna Barron
  • Beulah Elementary – Aries Yourkovich,
    Angie Midence Gamez
  • Bon Air Elementary – Daniel Madison, Grace Davis
  • Chalkley Elementary – Allison Hidalgo Jacome, Tye White
  • Marguerite Christian Elementary – Tylin Hill,
    Stefani Lugo Hing
  • Clover Hill Elementary – Gabriella Soto, Jonah Seifert
  • Crenshaw Elementary – Dylan Bankert, Jayla Roberson
  • Crestwood Elementary – Angelina Fiorillo,
    Raylin Paula Perez
  • Curtis Elementary – Guadalupe Villa Ramirez, Jada Graves
  • Davis Elementary – Lucinda Baltz, Karmyn Carter
  • Ecoff Elementary – Rhys Sartor, Katie Vong
  • Enon Elementary – Paul Johnson lll, Emila Flowers
  • Ettrick Elementary – Kinsley Hengle, Jeremiah Coleman
  • Evergreen Elementary – Tameem Mohamad,
    Wesley Johnson
  • Falling Creek Elementary – Edwin Maldonado-Escobar, Sara Montoya
  • Gates Elementary – George Budraski, Amelia Cruz
  • Gordon Elementary – Kendall McCormack, Julianne Woo
  • Grange Hall Elementary – Zachary Dale, Averie Gallamore
  • Greenfield Elementary – Angela Han, Sariyah Fitzhugh
  • Harrowgate Elementary – Hailey Surina, Harmoni Lynch
  • Hening Elementary – Abigail Huitz Alonzo, Zahria Robinson
  • Hopkins Elementary – Joel Chavarria, Shawn Johnson
  • Jacobs Elementary – Marely Alvarez Velasco, Kendall Reed
  • Matoaca Elementary – Lillian Ellett, Benjamin Bassett
  • Providence Elementary – Zay’Quan Smith, Olivia Murphy
  • Reams Elementary – Penelope Jaeger, De Andre Carter
  • Robious Elementary – Camden McChesney, Jacob Nelson
  • Salem Church Elementary – Braylon Kersey-Tyson, Jordonna Martinez
  • Elizabeth Scott Elementary – Jose Perales, Kayla Knight
  • Alberta Smith Elementary – Carter Castlebury, Aaliyah Allen
  • Spring Run Elementary – Sam McGuigan, Laura Nelson
  • Swift Creek Elementary – Ella Etters, Aaron Perkins
  • Watkins Elementary – Eleanor Sitkiewicz,
    Matthew Schumacher
  • Bettie Weaver Elementary – Alex Hein,
    Mary Cameron Leahy
  • Wells Elementary – Zyahna Mayes, Jillian Wiseman
  • Winterpock Elementary – Daniel Nigriny, Mehloni Wilson
  • Woolridge Elementary – Wyatt Harrison, Archer Jamison

Middle schools

  • Bailey Bridge Middle – Teresa Smith, Ethan Cermack
  • Carver Middle – Mariah Booker, Christian Eastling
  • Davis Middle – Jaidyn Payne, Kunj Patel
  • Falling Creek Middle – Kennedy Taylor, Persia Daye
  • Manchester Middle – Sean Fang, Heidy San Jose
  • Matoaca Middle – Ellie Griffin, Jayquentin Goodwyn
  • Midlothian Middle – Nadine Greer, Caden King
  • Providence Middle – Jase Callaham, Anjeolaoluwa Archer
  • Robious Middle – Shannon Selfe, Lanie Grant
  • Salem Church Middle – Jackson Drewry, Kiara Prosser
  • Swift Creek Middle – Garrett Wilcox, Jaden Hughes
  • Tomahawk Creek Middle – Ellinore Talley, Makhi Jackson

High schools

  • Bird High – Markus McClelland, Dong Young Kim
  • CTC @ Courthouse – Mikayla Fulcher, Vongai Zhandira
  • CTC @ Hull – Zachary Hutcherson
  • Carver Academy – Rachelle Reyes, Aaron Wilson
  • Clover Hill High – Kennedy Lundeen, Thomas Ensley
  • Cosby High – Valeria Pabon, Trinity Green
  • Thomas Dale High – Rahil Kapoor, McKenzie Ferguson
  • James River High – Stephania Chavez, Trae Zegarra
  • Manchester High – Alexandra Chapman, Karee Brown
  • Matoaca High – Ashlyn Wyatt, Morgan Mick
  • Meadowbrook High – Maria Martinez Lemus,
    Jacayla Richardson
  • Midlothian High – Sarah Nugent, John Rowe
  • Monacan High – Molly Ecroyd, Christopher Porter


You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment