Robious Corridor

Chesterfield County Public Schools announces its 2019 Teachers of the Year

Chesterfield County Public Schools

Board members and school division leaders announced the 2019 Teachers of the Year for elementary, middle and high schools and the countywide Teacher of the Year at surprise celebrations during national Teacher Appreciation Week. 

Teacher Year
Sixth-grade students and staff members at Providence Middle believed they were getting ready for an SOL Pep Rally, given that the students are taking their first Standards of Learning test as middle schoolers early next week.  Instead, they were treated to a surprise announcement that Providence Middle sixth-grade science teacher Nicole Rowland is Chesterfield County Public Schools’ 2019 Teacher of the Year, as well as the school division’s 2019 Middle School Teacher of the Year.

Rowland is known for her forward thinking, including her work to create a new class, Innovations and Inventions, that will equip students with the 21st century skills necessary to succeed in a rapidly changing world. She is also recognized for her use of project-based learning and technology in the classroom, which are providing students with authentic-learning opportunities that connect classroom learning to real-world experiences. Her willingness to let student interests drive instruction while still weaving in the necessary content shows that she understands how to reach
her students.

“Ms. Rowland’s principal notes that our Teacher of the Year is a ‘master teacher’ and that other Providence teachers have become ‘better educators’ due to her support and expertise,” said Dr. Javaid Siddiqi, the Midlothian District School Board member who represents part of the student enrollment at Providence Middle. “She not only believes in her students but inspires them to believe in themselves.”

“Her project-based learning exercise related to Earth Day resulted in students believing that they have the power to change the world,” added Dianne Smith, the Clover Hill District School Board member who represents part of the student enrollment at Providence Middle as well. “Ms. Rowland is changing lives, and our community, for the better!”

Teacher Year
Tara Krohn is Chesterfield County Public Schools’ 2019 Elementary School Teacher of the Year.  She is a second-grade teacher at Woolridge Elementary. Krohn is known for her hands-on, engaging, unscripted instructional approach that is a perfect fit for students with different learning styles.

“Mrs. Krohn’s administrators and colleagues speak very highly of her passion to educate each child as needed,” said School Board Vice Chair Rob Thompson, who represents Woolridge Elementary
as the Matoaca District member.

“She literally becomes who her students need her to be through engagement, voice a nd costume. She is a fantastic teacher who knows how to connect with her class.”

Teacher Year
Jackie Tully is Chesterfield County Public Schools’ 2019 High School Teacher of the Year. She teaches English at Midlothian High. Tully is known for her work with the county’s first-ever online

newspaper and a Service Learning class that is preparing high school students to be future teachers.

As a colleague noted: Through numerous observations and constant feedback, Ms. Tully helps students find and develop a love and understanding of teaching,” said Dr. Siddiqi, who also represents Midlothian High.

“The constant guidance and support she shows our Service Learning students provide them with the skills necessary to mimic her behavior in the classrooms they visit. Thus, the community Jackie has created in her classroom transcends the walls of Midlothian.”

Annually, every Chesterfield County school selects a Teacher of the Year. Chesterfield County Public Schools selects from those honorees an Elementary School Teacher of the Year, a Middle School Teacher of the Year and a High School Teacher of the Year, and ultimately chooses the countywide Teacher of the Year from those three honorees.

King’s nomination will be submitted to the Virginia Department of Education, which will select eight regional Teachers of the Year from across the state.

“We’re blessed to have some of the country’s best teachers working right here in Chesterfield County!” Superintendent James Lane said. “I’m so proud of each of our Teachers of the Year and the difference they are making in our schools. Recognizing the best of the best is a great way to close our Teacher Appreciation Week. Congratulations to our winners, and thank you to all of our staff members who are working hard to imagine tomorrow for our students.”

Here are the Teachers of the Year from Chesterfield County Public Schools:

Elementary schools

Bellwood Elementary — Robert Nichols
Bensley Elementary — Valerie Chavis
Beulah Elementary — Kara Rogers
Bon Air Elementary — Stephanie Jones
Chalkley Elementary — Christopher Martin
Marguerite Christian Elementary — Christine Henry
Clover Hill Elementary — Cari Malakoff
Crenshaw Elementary — Cassie Tubbs
Crestwood Elementary — Cindy Lin
Curtis Elementary — Jennifer Swartz
Davis Elementary — Jennifer Fennessey
Ecoff Elementary — Allie Redd
Enon Elementary — Kim Rice
Ettrick Elementary — Diana Rios
Evergreen Elementary — Marianne Cole
Falling Creek Elementary — Meghan Wilberger
Gates Elementary — Alycia Allen
Gordon Elementary —Dena Brown
Grange Hall Elementary — Patricia Grosse
Greenfield Elementary — Sandi Wiley
Harrowgate Elementary — Russell Krupp
Hening Elementary — Amirah Bohler
Hopkins Elementary — LaToya Hairston
Jacobs Road Elementary — Jennifer Jones
Matoaca Elementary — Leah Kovack
Providence Elementary — Alicia Watts
Reams Road Elementary — Beverly Gregory
Robious Elementary — Jennifer Eberts
Salem Church Elementary — Kimberly Kane
Elizabeth Scott Elementary — Martina Hall
Alberta Smith Elementary — Kim Shults
Spring Run Elementary — Michelle Seaman
Swift Creek Elementary — Therese Almore
Watkins Elementary — Paula Stocks
Bettie Weaver Elementary — Tracy Manchester
Wells Elementary — Tracey McDorman
Winterpock Elementary — Marques Baytop
Woolridge Elementary — Tara Krohn

Middle schools

Bailey Bridge Middle — Amy Ambrose
Carver Middle — Victoria Layman
Elizabeth Davis Middle — Lisa Zoller
Falling Creek Middle — Cecilia Stith
Manchester Middle — Michelle Balding
Matoaca Middle — Albert Davis
Midlothian Middle — Amy O’Neill
Providence Middle — Nicole Rowland
Robious Middle — Ashley Arnone
Salem Church Middle — Amber Kuper
Swift Creek Middle — Christopher Morris
Tomahawk Creek Middle — Rebecca Necessary

High schools

Bird High — Chevette Waller
Career and Technical Center @ Courthouse — Scott Steinruck
Career and Technical Center @ Hull — Dana Hutcherson
Carver College and Career Academy — Stephanie O’Neil
Clover Hill High — Timothy Adams
Cosby High — Allyson Eckenrode
Thomas Dale High — German Garavito Infante
James River High — Keenan Entsminger
Manchester High — Kelsie Myers
Matoaca High — Nichole Fowler
Meadowbrook High — Courtney Greene
Midlothian High — Jackie Tully
Monacan High — Gillian Anderson

. . .



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment